Lunar Fair at Fo Guang Shan Temple in Mississauaga

Happy Lunar New Year! Gong Xi Fa Cai! Gung Hei Faat Choy!

I was volunteering at Fo Guang Shan’s Lunar Fair on Saturday and it was a great success. I was also there last night for the First Incense Offering and there were TONS of people everywhere! I feel so honored to have had the opportunity to meet the Honorable Jason Kenney, Minister of Citizenship, Immigration and Multiculturalism although he was fashionably late. Haha! I also had the opportunity to meet the Mayor of Mississauga, Hazel McCallion and Conservative MP, Brad Butt.

The Honorable Jason Kenney, Conservative MP Brad Butt in the back and the Abbess Ven. Jue Chu

 There was an awesome lion dance last night to which I was being pushed and shoved to no end. I had to struggle to get a decent photograph but I enjoyed the performance nonetheless.

The lion preparing to eat the lettuce - a symbol of luck and prosperity.
The lions praying to Avalokitesvara Bodhisattva.
The lions praying to Avalokitesvara Bodhisattva.
The Food Market @ the Lunar Fair - YUM!

 I was there until 1:30am so I didn’t really get much sleep but it was so worth it, (ehem, lots of lucky money)! I thoroughly enjoyed my time with friends and family, (minus the weight gain from all the yummy food I’ve been eating) and can’t wait until next year’s Lunar Fair.

Let me take this opportunity to wish everyone an auspicious year filled with joy, peace, and wisdom!

Were any of you at the fair? How did you celebrate the Lunar New Year? Let me know in the comments below!

Much love,

M

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kris says:

    Happy New Year Meimei

    1. Explorer MF says:

      Happy New Year Kris!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

